Skip to content

Organisation chart

Organisation chart of Vatnajökull National Park

The Manging director of Vatnajökull National Park is appointed by the minister for five years at a time, according to the recommendations of the National Park's board. The Managing Director manages the day-to-day operations of the National Park on behalf of the board. The highest officers in the areas are Park Managers. Six of these work within Vatnajökull National Park, two in the southern area, two in the northern area, one in the eastern area and one in the western area.

Board and regional boards

The management of the institute and the management of the operation of the National Park are handled by a special board appointed by the minister. According to the law, the National Park is divided into four operating areas, and each of them has a six-member regional council.